Just a quick word about my Maternal Rant post…

You know all that stuff I wrote about moms not having time or energy to exercise? Well, I babysat a 14-month-old toddler for two days last week, and even though I’ve already raised children through that toddler stage, that pair of 8-hr sessions left me exhausted (mentally, which meant that I also perceived a physical exhaustion). In fact, if anyone had visited me with the great revelation that I needed to put myself first and make time to exercise, I might have hurled them through the window.

Is that healthy? NO! But who said anything about health? I’m talking about just getting through the day. Would exercise lessen my stress and make me feel better? OF COURSE! And I’m not suggesting that being a mother justifies abandoning healthy behaviors! As a matter of fact, it’s all the more important to establish a solid routine, not only for mom’s sake, but also for her children who will be modeling their behavior after hers. What I’m stressing, however, is that we all go through stages in our lives where we have to make do the best that we can. If you view exercise and proper eating as being for the sole purpose of losing weight, then a series of tough days/weeks/months may completely derail your efforts.

However, if you give fitness its due and understand that this is a life-long journey, it’ll be easier to accept the days/weeks/months of inconsistency in progress, and stay on track for long-term success.

